New Look 6048

The fabric… I got it on clearance at my local SAS fabrics store.  It was $1 a yard, so I purchased the entire bolt.  It’s nothing spectacular, but, it’s %100 cotton and a light color, so it’s perfect for my purpose.  The contrast fabric was a scrap piece I had from another dress.

I ended up lining the bodice in actual muslin fabric, but, forgot to pre wash it.  Oops.  I don’t know what I was thinking.  Anyway, the muslin shrank a bit, which explains some of the wrinkles on the bodice.

The fit… I’m not super thrilled with the fit.  I made modifications to the sewing of it and it ended up being a little high around the arms and is a little uncomfortable.  It is still wearable, but if I sit too long, I can feel it under my arms.

The pattern New look 6048… I love the look of it.  I have so many ideas for it, but not the fabric, boo.  It’s too bad, because I have so much fabric.  I’m a a bit of a sucker for a sweetheart neckline. It just adds more visual interest than a straight across neckline. It also came with a pocket pattern, but I used my own.  I can fit my DS, phone, wallet, charger and keys comfortably.  In other words, an entire purse in my dress.  Unfortunately, I did try to make pockets that integrated into the waist seam, but I didn’t like them.

If you look close enough, you might be able to see the DS in my right pocket.  There is a bit of a bulge that makes me look pregnant, but nope, it’s just my Nintendo DS.

I seemed to be making weird faces in all the pictures.  Oh well.  This is the best of the few we took, even though a tree is growing out of my head.

I do have a petticoat on, but you can’t even tell.  The skirt looks pretty flat.

Overall, I love the pattern.  Get ready for a million different dresses from this pattern.

nlf3

nlb3

Leave a Reply

